August 08, 2022

Congresswoman Bush Applauds Major Disaster Declaration Unlocking Federal Assistance for St. Louis Region

Community members impacted by flooding can access federal resources unlocked by President Biden’s declaration by calling 800-621-3362 or visiting 

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, Congresswoman Cori Bush (MO-01) released the below statement following the announcement that President Joseph R. Biden signed the Major Disaster Declaration requested by Missouri Governor Mike Parson on August 4, 2022.  Since the flash-flooding first started on Tuesday, July 26th, Congresswoman Bush has been calling for a federal Major Disaster Declaration and working closely with the Biden administration as well as state and local leaders to secure one. Last Friday, she and Senator Roy Blunt (R-Mo.) led the entire Missouri delegation in a letter supporting the request.

“I applaud President Biden’s action to grant a Major Disaster Declaration for the city of St. Louis, St. Louis County, and neighboring counties affected by catastrophic flash flooding. I am overjoyed at what this declaration means for St. Louis,” said Congresswoman Bush. “The devastation left by this historic flooding completely rocked our community. Two people lost their lives and hundreds more were forced out of their homes, left with flooded basements and rotting infrastructure to deal with. This much-needed disaster declaration will open critical resources for community members across the St. Louis region who have had their livelihoods upended as a result of this climate disaster. I am proud of our local, state, and federal leaders, including President Biden, for coming together to secure this declaration for the St. Louis region, and will continue to assist with this process until our community sees a full recovery.”

This Major Disaster Declaration would unlock resources and assistance, including:

  • Rental assistance and home repairs,
  • Buildings, roads and bridges repairs,
  • Disaster unemployment assistance,
  • Small business disaster loan consideration,
  • Crisis counseling,
  • and more.

Individuals in St. Louis County, St. Louis City, and St. Charles County can apply with FEMA the following ways:

  • Apply online at
  • Constituents may call the application phone number at 1-800-621-3362. If you use a relay service, such as video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, give FEMA the number for that service.


 Congresswoman Cori Bush sits on the House Judiciary and Oversight Committees, serves as the Progressive Caucus Deputy Whip, and proudly represents St. Louis as a politivist in the halls of the United States Congress.