December 22, 2022

Representatives Bush, Maloney, Chu, Kaptur, Moore Statement on Next Steps with Equal Rights Amendment


Image of Congress Members

Washington D.C. (Dec. 22, 2022) — Today, Congresswomen Cori Bush (MO-01), Carolyn B. Maloney (NY-12), Judy Chu (CA-27), Marcy Kaptur (OH-09), and Gwen Moore (WI-04) released the following statement outlining the next steps in the fight for the adoption of the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA). This statement comes after the Congresswomen marched from the House steps to the Senate yesterday alongside advocates to demand a vote on the House-passed H.Res. 17, legislation to eliminate the arbitrary deadline to ratify the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA). Companion legislation in the Senate, S.J.Res.1, which is led by Senator Ben Cardin (D-Md.) and Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), is cosponsored by all 50 members of the Senate Democratic caucus and Republican Senators Murkowski and Susan Collins.

“2023 marks the 100th year anniversary since the Equal Rights Amendment was introduced. Our government’s failure to finalize ratification of the ERA has prevented our country from enshrining gender equality in the Constitution. While we are disappointed that the Senate was unable to hold a vote on the ERA this year, Majority Leader Schumer has committed to meeting with advocates at the top of the new year and stated that he will aim to hold a vote on the ERA before the end of next March. We are thankful for Senator Schumer’s support, and we remain hopeful that this new year will be the last year our Constitution goes without mention of equal rights for all.”

Yesterday, advocates and members additionally held a meeting on the Senate side, where they spoke about the importance of the ERA. In this meeting, Congresswoman Maloney also relayed Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer’s (D-NY) intentions to meet with the advocates in January and work towards scheduling a vote on the ERA before the end of March. 

Those who joined the meeting included ERA advocate and author Kate Kelly, and advocates from Feminist Majority Foundation, National Organization for Women, ERA Coalition, and Generation Ratify.